Most Wickets for CSK in IPL _ Top 5 Wicket-takers

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is one of the most successful Indian Premier League (IPL) teams, having won the IPL title five times. MS Dhoni led CSK to IPL glory on all five occasions – 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023.

Five IPL titles would not have been possible for the franchise without the contribution from bowlers. The Chennai outfit always had some of the best bowlers in their roster. Players like Dwayne Bravo, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Albie Morkel, and Deepak Chahar have made invaluable contributions. 

This blog lists the top five wicket-takers for CSK in the IPL. Who is likely to pick up the most wickets for CSK in IPL 2024? Predict and win big cash prizes on an IPL betting platform during this IPL season. 
Top 5 Leading Wicket-Takers for CSK

Bravo leads the CSK’s IPL wicket-takers chart with 140 wickets in 113 innings. Jadeja is the second player with over 100 wickets for CSK in the IPL. Ashwin occupies the third spot with 90 wickets, while Morkel and Chahar have 76 and 71 wickets, respectively.

 Dwayne Bravo – 140 Wickets

Dwayne Bravo, the T20 legend, is the leading wicket-taker for CSK in IPL. Though he began his IPL journey with Mumbai Indians, he had the most success at the Yellow Army. Bravo has 140 wickets for the Chennai outfit and is the only overseas player to win the Purple Cap multiple times. The 4/42 in the IPL 2019 final against Mumbai Indians is his career-best bowling figures in an yellow jersey.   


 Ravindra Jadeja – 125 Wickets

Jadeja is one of the most celebrated cricketers in Indian cricket. The all-rounder, who played for Rajasthan Royals and Kochi Tuskers Kerala before joining CSK, has taken 125 wickets for CSK in 145 innings. He is the only CSK spinner to take a five-wicket haul in IPL and played a pivotal role in the franchise’s successful campaigns in 2018, 2021, and 2023. Jadeja also captained CSK in a few matches in the 2022 season.


 Ravichandran Ashwin – 90 Wickets

Ashwin made a name for himself in IPL at CSK. The off-spinner has taken 90 wickets at an excellent economy of 6.45 in his seven seasons with the champion franchise. He was the leading wicket-takers among spinners in 2011 with 20 wickets and helped CSK win a second successive title the same season. Ashwin, playing for Rajasthan Royals now, has won two IPL titles with CSK – 2010 and 2011 seasons.

 Albie Morkel – 76 Wickets

Morkel, younger brother of Morne Morkel, produced memorable performances during his six seasons at CSK. He was part of CSK from the inaugural IPL season and collected 76 wickets in 75 innings. The all-rounder’s best figures of 4/32 came against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2008 season. He played for CSK in four IPL finals, winning the trophy twice.   


 Deepak Chahar – 71 Wickets

Chahar has been one of the prominent names in the CSK bowling unit since their return from two-year ban. He played at the franchise for the first time in the 2018 season. In the 2019 season, he grabbed 22 wickets and was the top-wicket taker among Indian bowlers. If not for a few injury setbacks, Chahar, who won IPL with CSK in 2018, 2021, and 2023, would have added more wickets to his tally.

Share this:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.